Trombold Achievement &

Kansas HR Professional of the Year


The Trombold Achievement and Kansas HR Professional of the Year Award was established in 1992 to recognize our state’s Human Resources Professionals who excel within their field and as volunteer leaders with SHRM and their community.

The Trombold Award originated to honor George Trombold of Wichita, Kansas. George was a valued executive of Boeing for 37 years. As Vice-President of Human Resources, George exemplified the highest level of professionalism and integrity and was greatly respected by both management and labor. George was also a strong volunteer leader for his professional organization. He was one of the early founders of the American Society for Personnel Administrators (now SHRM). George was dedicated to fostering his profession through actively participating in his local chapter in Wichita as well as the Chairperson for ASPA. In addition, George had a deep sense of civic responsibility and commitment. He understood to make a community strong; its citizens needed to be a dedicated part of it. He served on numerous committee boards throughout his life. He did all of these things, not for self-advancement, but because he knew it was the right thing to do. Sadly George passed away in 2007, but the legacy he left behind is legendary. Thank you, George, for everything you did for the HR profession!

  • An active Human Resources professional
  • Have a minimum of five years of HR experience
  • National or Chapter member of SHRM
  • Preference will be given to certified professionals

Past Award Recipients

2021    Sean Hudspeth, MBA, SHRM-CP, SPFS – Wichita Chapter

2020    Tami H. Seaman, SHRM-SCP, SPHR – Johnson County/Overland Park Chapter

2019    Leslie Cunningham, SHRM-SCP, SPHR – Emporia Chapter

2018    Makala Navarro, SHRM-CP, PHR – Wichita Chapter

2017    Jenny Locanthi, SHRM-SCP, SPHR – Manhattan Chapter

2016    Patrick L. Salmans, SHRM-SCP, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2015     Shelbye Smith, SHRM-SCP, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2014     Dr. Robert Schwindt, PHR – Southeast Kansas Corner Chapter

2013     Kara Hunt, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2012     Jena Lysen, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2011     Dan Hamel, PHR – Wichita Chapter

2010     Kelly Calvert, SPHR – Lawrence/Jayhawk Chapter

2009     Linda Miller, SPHR – Western Kansas Chapter

2008     Trinidad Galdean, PHR – Wichita Chapter

2007     Phillip Hayes, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2006     Lisa Carlton, SPHR – Topeka Chapter

2005     Amy Shoemaker, PHR – Wichita Chapter

2004     Naomi Strong, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

2003     Frankie Brown – Wichita Chapter

2002     Cynthia Stotlar, SPHR – Topeka Chapter

2001     Ila Russell, SPHR – Johnson County/Overland Park Chapter

2000     Jamesina Evans – Topeka Chapter

1999     Joyce Shaw – Lawrence/Jayhawk Chapter

1998     Jan Mathieu – Johnson County/Overland Park Chapter

1997     Jerry Henson – Johnson County/Overland Park Chapter

1996     Steve Jacobson, SPHR – Wichita Chapter

1995     Jaeanie Wyatt – Wichita Chapter

1994     Jim Spangler – Johnson County/Overland Park Chapter

1993     Roger Morris – Wichita Chapter

1992     C. Roger Bolton, SPHR – Wichita Chapter